top of page
Search

In my defense on #ViajoSola



"Yesterday I was killed." read the first sentence on a Facebook post, now spreading virally, written in the voice of the two Argentine female backpackers who were killed on their trip in Ecuador, brutally and in the most dishonourable way possible.


I felt my goosebumps risng as I continued reading the post, relating it to my encounters and fears I faced during my experiences as a solo (female) traveller.


Read the article here.




It criticizes people who blamed the women for "traveling alone." In defense of women rights to explore the world, the hashtag #viajosola, meaning "I travel alone," has since been used by thousands of people, mostly women, to share pictures of themselves on their solo travels.


There's always a two sides of a coin to analyze every issue but anyway here's my defence on why I (choose to) travel alone.

Growing up, I was constantly told that I can't be out by myself, because I am a girl. I can't party and get drunk late at night because I am a girl. I can't travel alone because I am a girl. I have always questioned this theory in my mind why is being a girl such a limiting factor even though I have not challenged it outrightly, or maybe I did. And you know what? Strict parents breed the best liars. I admit it, I churn up the best lies to get away with it, but I don't regret any of it one bit. I remembered having to reveal my outing plans way in advance to convince my parents because it takes 2 business days to be approved, might be a no and even if its a yes, I've got to fill up a contact 'form' to get through the protocol. #growingupwithstrictparents


#viajosola (I travel alone) because I have the right to have access to what the world has to offer me without discrimination or harrassment. It is my joy in life, to take on the world as my stage and learn what it means to be independent, not an invitation for anyone to take advantage of my situation. What I wear does not give consent for anyone to lay their hands on me or catcall. Believe it or not, I know what it means for someone to touch me without my consent.


#viajosola because it helps to break the mould of what a woman can do or cannot do. I have been raised to believe that it's okay to be less successful than a man coming from a traditional Asian Chinese culture that places more emphasis on males than females but I strongly believe that I am able to be on par with them. For I am a woman, an equal of a man and my rights should not be minimize in any way. The irony is that people always confuse women voicing out for gender equality with feminism which is not true.


#viajosola because it's empowering. Everytime I travel, I learn that I can clock the miles, take charge of the steering wheel, I learn how to navigate my way through rough terrains, boulder steep cliffs, fail multiple times and get creative on a tight budget. It's physically and mentally demanding, and like normal human beings, I do get tired and scared sometimes, walking through dark alleys and finding myself in foreign land. And I am so tired of being scared. Getting out of my comfort zone is never easy, I push myself to acheive things I have never thought I could do, just like how I can mould myself to acheive my ideal body. I am well aware of the hardship that I will be facing and the first to admit that that I am remarkably unqualified for such a hazardous undertaking. But this is precisely the point of my journey. I would like to think that an ordinary person is capable of doing extraordinary things. Most of all, I learn to be the best version of myself and be unafraid to show the world what I am capable of. It is my prereogative for progression, and every destination has been rewarding.


#viajosola because I am able to strip myself naked of my past temporarily and my fears that held me back, walking away feeling more fulfilled each time. I travel to new places and see the best in people and they see the best in me. I have never had to confidence to let down my guard and show my scars, but going to different places has allowed me to let a little more of the baggage down each time and find a closure within myself. I see the world a little bigger and everytime I try something new, that terrifies me.. alot and it still do, every single time. It scares me but I still do it anyway. There is something about meeting strangers that refreshes you, each time you start on a fresh page, and look at things from someone's perspective. Like they say "eyes are the windows of the soul". Probe further and you will find more depth and intimacy in the conversations.


#viajosola because I can, I want, and I will continue to do so. Breaking barriers and looking beyond colours to meet people skin deep. Meeting strangers used to be my Achilles' heel and I used to hate the idea of human interaction but travelling by myself has taught me tolerance and be open minded to differences. Date someone very different from you because they deserve a chance, give a stranger a hug/kiss when you meet them because everyone deserve to receive a little love sometimes. Learn a new language to bridge the gap. Be kind. Put some loose change in the gypsy's can and learn about their situation. It's all about the little things. If someone told you that these little things didn't matter, then I guess they haven't seen how a match can ignite a wildfire.









bottom of page